“Nothing is Impossible, the word itself says, ‘I’m possible!’ ” -Audrey Hepburn

26 Jul

So.

Here I am at work, trying to figure out my schedule for school this fall. It is pretty crazy: being a full time student, working two jobs, and balancing interpersonal relationships. I sometimes wonder if I’ll ever be this good at multi-tasking again. Really, truly, more than likely…

this is my golden age of getting shit done.

I’m really enjoying it though. I’ve learned how to take time for myself amidst all the things that need/want my attention. I’ve learned how to balance, something very near to my heart [me being a libra and all].

I wonder if anyone else feels like they can only get things done now. Right now. Exactly here it must be finished and perfect. Ya know?

I mean, I know plenty of pessimistic, procrastinators. I used to be one. But, at this point in my life I just want to excel. I want everyone to be happy with me and what I am doing for them. Sure, that’s a burden and it’s not necessarily even my responsibility. And how can I expect to continue doing things like this [writing, this blog, restoring a house, working, going to school]? Then I am reminded of friends like Christopher Newgent and our own Ashley Ford who continue to do all the things they want and most of the things people want of them.

They are two that truly know the secret to balance. [Perhaps…and even if they don’t, they are certainly putting on a convincing show.]

I suppose our quest now should be to devise a plan for balance, or at the very least, a sort of sketch that each person can take and shape to fit them.

The first and foremost rule: YOU’RE ONLY RESPONSIBLE FOR YOU.

The second most important thing: Stay active. While it’s ok to take time for yourself and even something that I consider incredibly important, you need to participate in life. INVESTIGATE. Note the word “invest” tucked in gently. By considering details, you are investing in life. You are striving to avoid complacency.

Finally: Organize. Everyone needs a method of evaluating and ranking tasks. Everyone needs objectives/goals. And how you go about deciding what is worth your time is entirely up to you. But, it needs to be done if you are truly going to stay invested in your life and your plans.

What does everyone else do to stay fulfilled and busy and a part of something?

Is it more or less important to you?

Make this a discussion, I’m interested in what y’all have to say.

6 Responses to ““Nothing is Impossible, the word itself says, ‘I’m possible!’ ” -Audrey Hepburn”

  1. thenerdynegress July 26, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    I don’t know about the balance thing. I always feel like I know a million people who are better at it than me. Don’t really feel like I’m on par with The Newg. Feel like I’m pretty good at making people see what I want them to see.

    • elysiasmith July 26, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

      You are a marketing queen. and that’s talent right there. You are a role model for me. Even when I see you at a low point, I always feel like you’ve got a way out. That’s something admirable.

  2. ce. July 26, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    Kind words, Elysia, and thank you.

    Honestly, I’m not very balanced. At least, I don’t feel it. I’m constantly thinking and wishing I had more time to write or unwind or whatever. Mostly wishing I had more time for myself. But, there’s little to be had in wishing. Much more to be had in doing.

    I don’t really have any tips or tricks to getting things done. I keep a mental to-do list, and I go about doing them. Sometimes I drop the ball on them. I forget them or something. Sometimes I make lists and that helps. I’ve tried things to make me make more lists–I was carrying a little pocket book with me for awhile and jotting things down. I downloaded an iPhone app for to do listing. I even downloaded a Pomodoro app that I use sometimes, but really, it’s all about getting down with the get down. Knowing what needs to get done and doing it. If you need lists, make them. If you can keep it in your head well enough, it saves time not having to make lists.

    Above all else, the “haters gonna hate” thing is key (and I freaking love the Sailor Moon gif). Sometimes you drop the ball, but it’s rarely (read “never”) the end of the world. The world rolls on, regardless of whether you missed a deadline or forgot to buy a loaf of bread on your way home. It’ll be okay. There’s always a plan B, and plan B is usually pretty good, too, just maybe not as ideal as plan A. Be okay with dropping the ball sometimes. If not, you’ll have no teeth left, grinding them in the night.

    In short, I default to the Brits: Keep calm, and carry on.

    • elysiasmith July 26, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

      ” It’ll be okay. There’s always a plan B, and plan B is usually pretty good, too, just maybe not as ideal as plan A. Be okay with dropping the ball sometimes. If not, you’ll have no teeth left, grinding them in the night. ”

      True. True. and I also get you about list-making. I default to that because I’m a bit compulsive. But yes, you do you becomes more key every day. especially in the world we live in.

      • ce. July 26, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

        Lists are nice. The feeling of striking through a list point can’t be beat, that’s for sure. I’m just rubbish at the discipline of actually keeping lists going. All my list making goes great for a week or 2, and then I just stop and default to my mental listing.

      • ce. July 26, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

        I think this line from Bright Eyes’s song, “The Difference In the Shades,” might say it best:

        “Because I have learned that nothing is as pressing
        As the one who is pressing would like you to believe”

Leave a Reply

