It’s Monday; Gonna Punch Some Banana Crème Cheesecake With My Mouth

21 Mar

So this poem is really fucking sweet, as are pretty much all the things here.  But I was way wowed by that one.  Just really dig this:  “just as i search for a pair of hands/or many pairs of hands/that will want to orbit me/and pull my clothing away from my body/moon or many moons:/we could accomplish something amazing/if you were willing to be obsessed/with how quickly i can dump blood into my genitals.”

 

This week is the sixth annual In Print Festival at Ball State, where among other neat things happening (like the Broken Plate release) I’ll have the privilege of introducing Paul Killebrew before he reads some cool-ass poetry.  This is one of my favorites from his book Flowers, which I got to interview him about for the Broken Plate.  His answers were excellence.  My questions were barely even questions a couple times.

 

On Friday I was introduced to Magnum In Motion, and am enamored with the incredible storytelling and imagination shown in the various themes of the essays.  This is the first one I saw/heard/read; I still don’t have words.

 

If you haven’t heard of Tarrare before then you might want to sit down/have a glass of water before reading because, oh my god.

 

This is also really fucking sweet.

 

4 Responses to “It’s Monday; Gonna Punch Some Banana Crème Cheesecake With My Mouth”

  1. leeraloo March 21, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    Whoa… Tarrare… whoa. Why has no one made a movie about this?! Or a wacky sitcom where Tarrare lives in an apartment with his anorexic roommate and they have crazy adventures and try to get laid? CAN YOU IMAGINE BECAUSE I CAN.

    • leeraloo March 21, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

      Except we would take out that part where he eats cats and puppies because EWWWWWWW.

      • Layne Ransom March 22, 2011 at 2:20 am #

        I will interpret this as, “The part where he probably ate a toddler will be included in a wacky sitcom.”

      • leeraloo March 22, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

        Um, of course. Kids are gross. Puppies and kitties are cute.

Leave a Reply

