This post is a hot mess.

16 Mar

I’ve been debating on what to write about all day (which I do every Tuesday, because I write my posts on Tuesday nights after going to Ball State’s Writer’s Community with the Chickz).  I have so many ideas, and none of them are fully thought-out – they’re the fetuses of ideas, really.  So (and this might come as a shock to y’all), I’mma do a list post again, or really just a crazy potpourri post of madness.

And I know I do this all the time (or at least twice now), but I love it, I really do.  Ultimately, I REGRET NOTHING.

Thoughts I Had About Writing Over My Spring Break

1.)  I realized that the type of writing I’m drawn to is not the type of writing I’m best at.  I could spend a year editing one serious essay or some lyrical piece of flash fiction and in the end, I doubt it would get such a positive reaction as I get from my written-on-the-fly, hardly edited, ranty/bitchy blog posts.  AND MAYBE I’M OKAY WITH THAT NOW.  But still, when I think the words “good writing,” I think of lyrical writing and poetry.  Just like comedies get ignored at the Oscars, humor is often overlooked as a genre of writing, whereas flowery poetry and cerebral works of fiction and the like are “The King’s Speech” of the literary world.  And goodness knows that blogging isn’t really considered a viable form of literature, not yet.  Anyone can do it, that’s the problem.  But I think there’s true art in making something that is interactive, contains multiple forms of media, is self-aware, pop culture savvy, and can draw in an audience like a well-written and well-promoted blog post can do (and promotion is half the battle in the blogosphere).  Regardless, I feel like my style of writing is not credible enough.  Most of my writing nowadays is either blogging or writing screenplays, and I think I’m good at that, but now the Chickz are prepping for a reading and I HAVE NOTHING TO READ.  It’s really stressing me out and I don’t feel like a real “writer” because of this.  And maybe I’m not.  Maybe I’m just a blogger.  But if I am, then I think I’m doing what I’m good at, and maybe eventually I can accept that about Lora the Writer.

2.)  I found this quote on the Interwebs:  “You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.” – Ray Bradbury, from Zen in the Art of Writing.  It really resonated with me.  I really just want to retreat into this cocoon of words and stories lately.  I have so many ideas, and I spend a lot of my free time thinking about what I can write, but I feel like I have little time to actually write those ideas (that, and I’m scared shitless about actually sitting down and putting pen to paper or fingers to keyboard.  It’s like, carrying a baby is difficult, but birthing the sucker is the real bitch).  I just kind of wish that real life would stop interfering.  I don’t want to go to my science class, I don’t want to go grocery shopping, I don’t want to worry about money.  On one hand, it feels good that writing is actually becoming a part of my identity and I’m actually having IDEAS.  On the other hand, I have a hard enough time overcoming my social anxieties and all the things that keep me from being a real adult without also being blinded by my writing.  How does one make time in their life to be drunk on writing without simultaneously falling into a black hole of nothingness?  I’m stumped.

3.)  No, but seriously.  The more I think about it, the more I’m convinced I just want to be a professional blogger.  Maybe do a few books.  Have a TV show.  I want to live life on my opinions, my unique (read: bitchy) way of expressing those opinions, my personality, and the super weird faces I can make.

The Mystery Chick

So, in the Chicklitz group, we often feel as if there’s someone missing.  A phantom limb Chick, if you will.  We have decided that she is blonde and super unreliable (because she never shows up to our gatherings).  I have decided to give her an identity.

Yeah, she looks like Tracy Flick because I watched "Election" the other day.

Name: Carla J. Shattuck

Born: March 25th, 1989 in Valparaiso, IN

Favorite Movies: American Beauty, Amelie, and Kill Bill

Favorite Bands: Into the freak folk scene.  Likes Animal Collective, Akron/Family, Devendra Banhart, Joanna Newsom, Nick Drake and Jefferson Airplane.  Also likes gangster rap, but feels kind of guilty about it.

Favorite Books/Writers: Lorrie Moore (duh).  “The Awakening” by Kate Chopin.  “Tender Buttons” by Gertrude Stein.  Maybe some John Irving.  Haruki Murakami.  “East of Eden” by John Steinbeck.  “The Handmaid’s Tale” by Margaret Atwood.  “Lolita” by Nabokov, because she has taste.  Conrad’s “Heart of Darkness,” which she likes to reference in lit classes, just to let people know that she’s read it.

Bio: In high school, Carla was voted “Best Hair.”  Blondes have all the luck.  She was the Arts and Entertainment section editor of her school newspaper, and once wrote a scathing review of the school’s production of “Thoroughly Modern Millie,” which resulted in a few members of the cast jimmying open her locker and dumping cans of Hormel Chili on her pre-calculus textbook (the most expensive textbook, mind you).  At Ball State, she majors in creative writing and has submitted to the undergrad lit journal, “The Broken Plate,” every year, but has never been published.  She was an R.A. in the honors dorms for a year, but hated having to appear chipper when freshmen knocked on her door at 3 a.m., so she quit.  Her older brother was in a frat here at BSU, and he once jumped off the roof of the frat house and broke both of his legs.  It was in “The Daily News,” and Carla will never admit that roof-jumping Dan Shattuck and her brother Dan Shattuck are one and the same.  When walking on campus, Carla wears big headphones because she knows she has good taste in music.  Her favorite piece of clothing is a vintage purple bowling shirt that says “Chico” on the front.  She owns three pairs of Chuck Taylors and isn’t quite sure where she falls on the Kinsey scale.

BOOM!  Seventh Chick… MANIFESTED!

Three Videos You Must Watch RIGHT NOW!

1.)  “Friday” – Rebecca Black

I heard a rumor that this record label – Ark Music Factory – takes fame hungry tweens and lets them record songs and videos, not so they can become genuine singing sensations, but so they can become Internet laughingstocks.  God, I hope that rumor is true.

2.)  Sexy Sax Man

A man plays the sax solo from George Michael’s “Careless Whisper” at inappropriate times and in inappropriate places.  Although, on second thought, is there actually anything inappropriate about George Michael?  No, didn’t think so.

3.) Baby Trashes Bar in Las Palmas

Basically self-explanatory.  It made me realize just how similar drunk people and babies are.

5 Responses to “This post is a hot mess.”

  1. Lindsey.p.LaVal March 16, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    That 7th chick is a biiiiiiiiiiiiiitch!

    • leeraloo March 16, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

      I don’t know, I’m kind of fond of her. But then, I CREATED HER!

  2. thenerdynegress March 16, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    OMG LORA THE SEXY SAX MAN IS MAKING MY WHOLE LIFE!!!

    • leeraloo March 16, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

      I saw that you posted it on Facebook! YOU’RE WELCOME.

      “He doesn’t like George Michael!” “BOOO!”

      • Layne Ransom March 17, 2011 at 9:46 am #

        I want the Sexy Sax Man to father every child I will ever have.

Leave a Reply

