I Have Thoughts and They Are Trying

21 Feb

I have thought and said and done things in the past week relating to Ashley’s most recent, totally kickass post and the “war on women.” That included a joint rant with one of my roommates Saturday night about all this bullshit after participating in this protest against said bullshit Saturday afternoon.

 

My thoughts about these things are angry and righteous-feeling and everywhere.  They include a woman who said to a fellow protestor, “Jesus still loves you even though you kill babies,” a statement so misinformed I’m not even sure where to start.  And that it took me until this year and a male photography professor to point out to me it’s absurd that neither the Honors College core nor the standard University Core Curriculum at Ball State require any sort of women’s history class. (And for that matter, only one non-Western history class is required in Honors.)  And more thoughts about true stories and what it means for other human beings when we tell false ones instead.  (I.e., the thing I think about when it comes to pretty much every moral issue ever.)

 

So, I’m simmering still.  I will have more to say.  Sometime in the near future I will probably have another rant in relation to these things about the insidious influence of untrue stories and/or why accepting assertions without proper evidence is harmful.

 

But if you haven’t seen it yet, here’s an example of a courageous true story told to fight against a false one:

 

3 Responses to “I Have Thoughts and They Are Trying”

  1. elysiasmith February 21, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Oh and on top of all this…
    I just heard that Texas just voted to allow both students and professors to carry concealed weapons on campus.
    WTF, world leaders?!
    http://www.elpasotimes.com/newupdated/ci_17441509

    “It’s strictly a matter of self-defense.” WHATEVER. More like, I’ll show you mine, if you show me yours.

    Anyways,

    Layne, I am super proud of you for attending that march.
    WE have so much to give and WE are starting.

  2. leeraloo February 21, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    They include a woman who said to a fellow protestor, “Jesus still loves you even though you kill babies.”

    Are you serious?! Remember that time Jesus didn’t say anything about abortion, ever? Yeah, I remember that.

    What I’m getting sick of is arguing with MEN about this issue. Only 16 (maybe 17) of the 167 representatives who support revoking funding from Planned Parenthood are women. That’s like, what, 10%? And yet how many women would it affect? 100% of women. STFU, men.

  3. Joe C. February 21, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    I like how y’all are talking about THE ISSUES. I think that’s very important.

Leave a Reply

