Sean Lovelace thinks Girl Flash Fiction Authors are cool.

11 Jan

Today, I was sitting in class and Professor Lovelace said “Some of the best flash fiction collections (in his opinion) are written by females with female narrators.” That made me feel like cotton candy inside. And, it was nice. So, thanks, Sean Lovelace.

Even though I already titled this post. I am re-titling it now.

:The VOUCHED PRESENTS reading is going to be sweet because:

1.) a lot of rad people are going

2.) those people are carpooling which saves gas/money/THE ENVIROMENT`

3.) many of those people are my friends

4.) we six Chickz are going

5.) we get to meet/greet the authors prior to the reading

6.) at said “meet/greet” we will be eating food

7.) car rides with babes are fun

8.) we get to go to INDY

9.) this qualifies as a Writer’s community field trip

10.) we get to listen to authors who are cool like ray bans on angels.

But fo reals, 

I am so stoked about this reading.

Also: here is something I wrote recently

I am a Bitter Puppy

How did that dream go again? You were at a pet shop, with your eyes closed. You were laying in the fluorescent glow of mall afternoons. You smelled like tile and glass cleaner and nachos, or maybe it was the store, or maybe the dream part. You were brown. When I saw you, you still had your eyes closed. Tiny. Brown paws under pink nose, 3 weeks old and I wondered, where is your mother? The compulsory ooh, aww pushed from behind my teeth and I felt stupid but couldn’t help the moment. When you spoke, I wasn’t surprised. The argument that followed:

Me: aww puppy, aww you are so cute. So so cute. Awww.

Puppy: you disgust me. Cut it out. I can’t see that face you’re making but I bet it looks pretty stupid.

Me: aww, why so glum, puppy? If I were as cute as you I’d never be sad.

Puppy: well you should be, no matter how cute you are. Life is fucking sad.

Me: poor puppy, I should take you home and cuddle you. You look so cuddly, aww.

Puppy: don’t touch me.

Here, at the breakfast table, I hold the orange juice over my glass too long. When I feel it soak through my Tweety-Bird pajama pants, I look at the walls. I imagine the hollow feeling of my wallet, how short my nails are. I think about people. I smell something bad, or at least that’s how I look.

15 Responses to “Sean Lovelace thinks Girl Flash Fiction Authors are cool.”

  1. Layne Ransom January 11, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    holygod this weekend will be great.

    I really dig the end of the thing. I don’t dig the word “fluorescent” in there as much. I am not much one for leaving detailed critiques in these comments so I will like, do that some other way.

  2. somethingnewplease January 11, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    I agree with your professor. Lydia Davis, who I would argue occasionally ventures into flash fiction, is my favorite.

    D

  3. leeraloo January 11, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    I predict that “We Six Chickz” would be a killer Christmas song.

  4. ce. January 12, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    Vouched Presents is going to knock the socks of your ass, which wouldn’t be weird in Victorian England, when socks normally came up to one’s ass, but is maybe a little weird now, unless you count leggings as socks, which I could be okay with I suppose, but could you be?

    Either way, this shitz gonna be whack. Wear your leggings just in case.

  5. thenerdynegress January 12, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    I’m super excited about the reading but openly nervous about meeting authors I dig. *sweating*

    • ce. January 12, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

      Would it help if I told you they’re as awesome in person as you’d expect? Because they are.

      • thenerdynegress January 13, 2011 at 1:25 am #

        That doesn’t help. What if they’re too awesome to speak to me and enjoy it? I’m going to get nervous and only half enjoy my Cajun food.

        I’m going to have to rely on my charm aren’t I?

    • amhines January 12, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

      I’m nervous too, Ashley. I hope I’m not quiet and awkward and weird; I just want to be liked haha. But I am excited to go, and I think we’ll have a wonderful time.

      • thenerdynegress January 13, 2011 at 1:25 am #

        You might have to hold my hand a little.

  6. elysiasmith January 12, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    I will be there. With leggings on, don’t you worry.
    PS> lindsey, i did that gravatar thingy.

    • ce. January 13, 2011 at 10:28 am #

      I would “Like” this if there was an option for it.

  7. ce. January 13, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Haha. You guys crack me up. You’ll be fine. They’re all kind and gracious people, which meshes well with your smarts and charms.

  8. Roxane January 14, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    Boom! Looking forward to meeting you!

Leave a Reply

