LETTERS

10 Jan

a) I’m increasingly grateful for my cell phone, as I keep waking up at godawful late times at night to text things/ideas to myself.  I used to scramble for paper and pencil, but looking for those in a messy room while semi-coherent = doomed mission.

 

b) On Saturday night a bunch of us chickz played Bananagrams.  There’s a real way to play where you make Scrabble-approved words with tiles, which I snoozefestedly did, and then there’s playing like Lindsey who makes words like “DOLFEM,” which is like “dolphin” but even closer to being a person.  What I mean is, my vocabulary needs to get drunk and make out with a stranger.

 

c) I’ve wanted one for a while and just keep on STUPIDLY NOT DOING ANYTHING ABOUT THAT, but I’ve been playing my roommate’s ukulele.  First, every time I go to spell “ukulele” I want to make the second vowel an “e” which is NOT EVEN RIGHT.  Second, there’s something giddy about individual letters have different feelings under your fingers; I play piano and flute too, so having this set of memories of how notes feel on different instruments is candy.  A Flat feels like this, this, and this.

 

d) I keep pretty much every letter I ever get from people I care about, and when I say “letter” I mean any paper trail of our relationship, U.S. Postal Service involvement or no.  I am a person all about making claims from solid evidence, so when I have a means to say, “(PERSON) thinks/thought/feels/felt  A, B, and C,” I value it.  Tangible traces of who people are to me aren’t all that common, I don’t think, especially those that adequately express degrees of emotion/affection/concern/etc.  Having those things around, remembering they’re there, is reminder:  I am human and they are human and you affect each other, probably more than you know.

 

e) What do you scramble to write on?  What word games do you like?  What sweet-ass words have you made up?  Is a dolphin a person?  What do you play?  Do you like letters?  Do you like movies about gladiators?

14 Responses to “LETTERS”

  1. Steven January 10, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    I have this one friend that makes and sends me postcards about once a month. They never really say anything too personal, but I find so much value in them. I’ve got quite the collection going.

    Oh, and I love Upword – the lazy man’s scrabble.

    • Layne Ransom January 10, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

      Postcards are the shit and I should stop being lazy and SEND SOME TO PEOPLE

  2. thenerdynegress January 10, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    “What do you scramble to write on? What word games do you like? What sweet-ass words have you made up? Is a dolphin a person? What do you play? Do you like letters? Do you like movies about gladiators?”

    The chalkboard wall behind my bed. Scrabble and I’ve recently discovered crossword puzzles. I’m happy with making up “Nignorance”. A dolphin is a porpoise. I play a lot of mindgames. I like getting them, HATE writing them. I actively avoid movies with gladiators except for “300” but THEY were Spartans.

    • Layne Ransom January 10, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

      I would watch movies about your chalkboard wall fighting gladiators.

    • Lindsey P January 10, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

      Ashley, your chalk board wall blew my mind. Imagine an entire room like that. Sweet baby jesus.

  3. amhines January 10, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    In response to A: I get you, girl. I always have so many story ideas right as I’m about to fall asleep. I usually use the notes app on my iPhone to record them all before I forget in the morning. I used to carry around a small moleskin and I agree, I liked the idea of that so much more. But I lost it all the time and I always know where my phone is. so. yes. I love this and you.

  4. Lindsey P January 10, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

    Layne, I like your form here. You could expand this into a 26 letter based essay. About scrabble/banana grams, for sure, but I’m sure other things as well. Lots of things have letter. FOR INSTANCE, music-face, you could write about notes—what an A# feels like playing flute. Maybe write about your embouchure or whatnot, and then make another connection to something else. Who knows where you’d end up.
    ADVENTURES OF THE WRITING KIND.

    • Layne Ransom January 10, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

      YOU USED THE WORD “EMBOUCHURE” AND THAT IS GREAT

      also

      I am glad that I am a music-face.

      also

      Adventures.

      • Layne Ransom January 10, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

        Also, playing an A# on flute feels solid, powerful, and familiar; it’s one of the first notes I learned (though as Bb, since it’s much more common in flute music than A#).

        Writing about how notes feel would be a cool thing, or how certain songs feel. “Cosmia” (Joanna Newsom) feels incredible on piano (or what I know of it; I’ve got about three of 11 pages learned).

    • Layne Ransom January 10, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

      also, if you had asked me how to spell “embouchure” in spoken conversation, it would have looked something like this: EMBRACHOUIDON’TEVENKNOWWHATWORDSARE

      • Lindsey P January 11, 2011 at 11:11 am #

        Would you believe, I actually knew that one?

  5. Lindsey P January 10, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

    WRITE THE TOOTH.

  6. elysiasmith January 11, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    “What do you scramble to write on? What word games do you like? What sweet-ass words have you made up? Is a dolphin a person? What do you play? Do you like letters? Do you like movies about gladiators?”

    SHOOT GURRL.
    I am always writing on my arms, and my little journal, and the livers of books. I always say pronnunciated (ennunciated/pronounced). A dolphin becomes a person when kissed by a virgin. I play soccer,twister, and clue. Hell yes, I love letters (the post office ladies know my name). And, gladiators is alllright (sometimes).

    • Layne Ransom January 11, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

      “A dolphin becomes a person when kissed by a virgin.”

      Imagine: three Olympic judges holding cards that say “10.” Applause.

Leave a Reply

