Revealing The Process

1 Jan

Each woman who writes on this blog considers herself a writer. I’m also pretty sure we all consider ourselves amateur writers. That’s a big part of the reason we started this blog. We’re learning. This blog serves as our public meeting place and a visual reminder of our writing processes. Becoming better writers is our goal.

That makes me wonder about the people who are reading this blog. I wonder if our readers are expecting superbly polished literary action here, or if they’re truly enjoying the voyeuristic opportunity a group blog like this provides. These posts aren’t just meant to showcase how well we write (though that would be totally appropriate to display), they’re also meant to be conversations between the chickz and our readers.

So, what about other writers who read this blog? Especially those who have books or numerous publications under their belts? Do they read these posts and dismiss us as self-important wannabes, or do they see this blog as something productive, maybe even necessary?

I can’t think of a writer I like who has given me the opportunity to look into their past work and see how awful they were when they started. I’ve heard writers say they used to be awful, but I’ve never seen any proof. Not one bad poem or wished-away story plot. I’ve definitely never seen an amateur writer’s process to becoming a professional writer.

I think this is true of most artists. Our work is so caught up in our identity that much the way we hide our 13 year-old school pictures, we hide any evidence that we were not always who we are now. The ego is at work and someone reading our shitty 10 year-old poetry makes us  want to gag.

That’s just one of the reasons I’m so excited about this blog. I never want people to think I don’t struggle with my writing. I struggle with it constantly. I fight it, scream at it, and use it for evil. When it’s finished, I stare at it for three days before I’ll let anyone else see it. I point the finger and take the credit. I’m not nice to my words. And they’re not always nice to me.

But this is part of the process toward getting better, to becoming the kind of writer I want to be. I hope that someone else sees what we do here and realizes that most writers aren’t just born “good writers”. We’re working for this and I’m certain that this blog is only a small part of how hard we’re working behind the scenes. It’s important that people see that.  I’m going to try to show that more here. Also, I hope to post a real story here next week. I might think it sucks a week after that, but I promise I won’t delete the post it’s attached to.

I look forward to being more honest about my process.

8 Responses to “Revealing The Process”

  1. Copper January 2, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    I’m only one reader, but I certainly don’t come here expecting Charles Dickens. Not because I don’t think any of you are incapable of churning out fantastic literature, but because if I wanted to read superbly polished literary action, I’d pick up a book (that’s not Twilight, unless I was in the mood for badly composed first drafts, but that’s neither here nor there).

    *Let me preface the following paragraph with the disclaimer that I am far from a writer*

    Gun to my head, I can’t truly say why I read this blog, beyond “I enjoy the posts, they’re interesting to read”, so you can put me in the “enjoying the voyeuristic opportunity” camp. If you want an analogy, it’s like this blog is the first season of a tv show; I’m watching the episodes/reading the blogs, I’ve liked what I’ve seen so far, so I keep coming back. It’s not until the second or third season, when a show really finds its legs, that I start to truly ask and analyse why I’m watching it. I don’t expect my experience with this blog to be any different.
    Does that make any sense?

    • thenerdynegress January 3, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

      Makes a lot of sense! We’re still trying to figure out what we want to do here, and why we continue to write, so I just wondered if we put out an expectation for this blog we have no intention of adhering to.

      Thanks for sharing, Copper 🙂

  2. Steven January 3, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    I always enjoyed reading everyone’s stuff in Jill’s class, so I’m here because this might be my only chance at creeping on your work.

    • thenerdynegress January 3, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

      Creep on, SuperCreep 🙂

  3. elysiasmith January 3, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    I heart this post so hard.
    But, I love you, Ashley Ford. So that helps.
    Also, you are amazing. Also, sorry for writing “I heart this post so hard.” But, I’ve been feeling like a middle schooler of late so I can chalk it up to that, maybe.

  4. lindseyplaval January 7, 2011 at 1:05 am #

    Sometimes, when I creep, I like to pretend like I’m that guy from Scooby Doo. He’s green. He flings his arms around. He goes, “Creeeeeper. CreeeEEEEEEEPER!”

    I’m normal.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It Won’t Cure Cancer, But It’s Okay « Chick Litz - January 8, 2011

    […] Saturday I wrote this post about revealing the process of beginning a story to finishing it. This is a story that I have been […]

Leave a Reply

